Possible solution for adding a second base station

I was thinking about adding a second base station to the nolo tracking and there seems to be a possible simple solution. But I'm not a programmer so who knows. It seems that if you only had 1 station active at a time they wouldn't interfere with each other. Essentially when you turn past a certain point station A goes into stand by and station B automatically initiates and picks up where A left off.

Comments

• That's close to how Vive Lighthouses work.  They synchronize such that one stations lasers flash, then the other.  The markers are also synced so they know which station is flashing when.  People were speculating that this wouldn't work with Nolo due to the ultrasound thing, but some have tested and found it to not be particularly useful. (?)  I speculate that Nolo 'might' have trouble synchronizing the base stations due to limitations of the chips and hardware used. Only the Nolo engineers would know what's possible.
  • Yeah, we've posted NOLO our ideas and suggestions. 
    They said they will look at it after the Kickstarter ended.
    We hope they can get it working somehow, but it is not guaranteed for this version.

Worst case is that full room-scale will come with a version 2 which we will have to purchase separately.

I've given Lisa my views on this as well, and hopefully they will take it into consideration and try their best to get room scale working with the kickstarter version.

But at the end of the day we also have to accept that the NOLO is and was originally for Mobile VR, not Steam VR.
  • I sure hope it wont end up needing a whole version two... then I would probably look around for other solutions instead.

They have said that they have tried to make it ready for a second base station though.

This thread sums up a lot of things with several links to support it:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/GearVR/comments/5r8wu2/nolo_vr_positional_tracking_motion_controllers/